Symphony no. 9 in E minor, op. 95, "From the New World"

Alternative title: 
"New World Symphony"

Written when Dvořák was in New York in 1893.

Dvořák's Symphonies were published by a number of different publishing houses and each used their own numbering system.
This has led to confusion in the numbering of Dvořák's symphonies over the years.
For example, the first symphony to be published and dedicated to Hans Richter, was the sixth symphony composed by Dvořák.

This Symphony, now known as No. 9 is also sometimes identified, in early recordings and literature, as Symphony no. 5 in E minor, and occasionally as no. 8 was first performed and published in 1894.

Work Type: