University Concert

Thursday, October 26, 1939

Dr Mary Grierson - pianoforte
The Roy Laing String Quartet

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1.  Pianoforte:  Partita in B flat ... J.S.Bach

2.  Quartet:  Quartet in D major, op. 64, no. 5 ... Haydn

3.  Pianoforte:  Prelude in E major, op. 28 ... Chopin
                        Mazurka in C sharp minor ... Chopin
                        Mazurka in A flat major ... Chopin
                        Mazurka in G major ... Chopin

4.  Quartet in E flat, op. 125, no. 1 ... Schubert

Performance Type:

single sheet
Programme Notes: 

The programme is a single typed sheet and there are no programme notes.  It is described a 'University Concert'.  No opus number is given for the Mazurkas but given the group of three and the keys given, it is likely that they are the three works which form op. 50, nos 1, 2 & 3.

The venue is not given in the programme but there is mention of the concert the following week in the University Union, which may have been the venue for this concert.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Not known
Publicity and Reviews: 

Next University concert will be held in the Union on the evening of Thursday, 9th November, 1939