Saturday Night Concert

Saturday, November 3, 1945
7.00 pm.
1945-46 season, 5th concert



Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Muir Mathieson - guest conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Trumpet tune ... Purcell

2. Symphony in E minor, op. 95 ("from the New World") ... Dvorak

       (a) adagio, leading to allegro molto
       (b) largo
       (c) scherzo (molto vivace)
       (d) allegro con brio


3. Overture: "Russlan and Ludmilla" ... Glinka

4. "Sheep may safely graze" ... Bach-Walton

5. Suite: "L'Arlesienne" ... Bizet

       1. Prelude
       2. Minuet
       3. Adagietto
       4. Carillon
       5. Minuet
       6. Farandole

6. Hunagarian dance no. 2 ... Liszt

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Brief programme notes on Dvorak's symphony no. 9, Bach's 'sheep may safely graze' (arranged Walton), and Bizet's suite 'L'Arlesienne' only by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.4: programmes for 'popular Saturday concerts' on 10 November (sixth concert), 17 November (seventh concert) and 24 November 1945 (eighth concert).


It is not possible to identify which piece was performed at the start of the programme with any certainty. Various works by Purcell include items entitled 'Trumpet Tune', for example, and it may have been one of these. It is also possible that the work performed was Jeremiah Clarke's 'Prince of Denmark's March', which is sometimes called 'Trumpet Voluntary', a composition often ascribed erroneously to Henry Purcell.