Reid Sunday Concert

Sunday, December 12, 1943
2.30 pm.
1943-44 season, 9th concert



Ian Whyte - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Margaret Maddison - solo pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. Overture: "Ruy Blas" ... Mendelssohn

2. Pianoforte concerto no. 1 in C major (op. 15) ... Beethoven
Allegro con brio
        Rondo - allegro

3. Symphony no. 8 in F major ... Beethoven
        Allegro con brio
        Tempo di menuetto

4. March: "Pomp and Circumstance" no. 4 ... Elgar

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by M.G. [Mary Grierson].

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Series Ticket (10 concerts) Grand Tier, £2.10/-; Area (Reserved) £2; Area (unreserved) £1.10/-; Upper Tier £1; Single Tickets: 5/-, 4/-, 3/- & 2/- from Paterson Sons & Co. Ltd., 27 George St. Programme price: sixpence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 4:
- Advert for the fifth Reid orchestral concert of the season on 18 December 1943
 - Advert for the tenth and eleventh Reid Sunday concert on 19 and 26 December 1943
 - Advert for the Edinburgh music club chamber music concert on 28 January 1944 at Freemasons' Hall, George Street
 On page 1:
 ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'