Reid Sunday Concert

Sunday, November 21, 1943
2.30 pm.
1943-44 season, 6th concert



Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Sidney Newman - conductor
Elizabeth Lockhart - solo violin

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. Overture: "Der Freischutz" ... Weber

2. Violin concerto in E minor (op. 64) ... Mendelssohn
       Allegro molto appassionato
       Allegretto grazioso
       Allegro molto vivace

3. Symphony no. 4 in G (op.88) ... Dvorak
       Allegro con brio
       Allegretto grazioso
       Allegro ma non troppo

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Series Ticket (10 concerts) Grand Tier, £2.10/-; Area (Reserved) £2; Area (unreserved) £1.10/-; Upper Tier £1; Single Tickets: 5/-, 4/-, 3/- & 2/- from Paterson Sons & Co. Ltd., 27 George St. Programme price: sixpence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 4:
- Advert for the fourth Reid orchestral concert of the season on 4 December 1943: Gluck, overture: "Iphegenie en Aulide"; Bach, violin concerto in A minor; Mendelssohn, scherzo (from the octet); Vaughan Williams, "The lark ascending"; Elgar, symphony no. 1
- Advert for the seventh Reid Sunday concert on 28 November 1943: Schubert, overture: "Rosamunde"; Grieg, piano concerto in A minor; Borodin, symphony no. 2 in B minor; Ponchielli, "Dance of the Hours"
- Advert for The Edinburgh Music Club, chamber music concert on Friday 3 December 1943, featuring the pianist Phyllis Sellick
- On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'