Reid Organ Recital

Friday, February 25, 2000
1.10 pm
Season 1999-2000

Jürgen Benkö - organ

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Organ Sonata in E minor, no. 8, op. 132 ... Josef Gabriel Rheinberger
  Introduction and Fugue

Sonata on the 94th Psalm ... Julius Reubke

Grave: O Lord God, to whom vengeance belongeth, shew thyself.  Arise, thou Judge of the world and reward the proud after their deserving.

Larghetto - Allegro con fuoco: Lord, how long shall the ungodly triumph?  They murder the widow, and the stranger: and put the fatherless to death.  And et they say, Tush, the Lord shall not see: neither shall the God of Jacob regard it.

Adagio: If the Lord had not helped me: it had not failed but my soul had been put to silence.  In the multitude of the sorrows that I had in my heart: thy comforts have refreshed my soul.

Allegro (fugue) - Allegro assai: But the Lord is my refuge: and the strength of my confidence.  He shall recompense them their wickedness, and destroy then in their own malice.

Single sheet A4 salmon, typed one side
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.  Brief biography of Jürgen Benkö.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free
Publicity and Reviews: 

Forthcoming University Concerts listed at the foot of the programme.

[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh