Reid Organ Recital

Thursday, April 29, 1869

Professor Herbert Stanley Oakeley

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Organ Concerto no. 2 in B flat ... Handel
 Andante maestoso
 Adagio, quasi recitativo
 Allegro, ma non presto

Air from the Whitsuntide Cantata ... J.S.Bach

Chorus, "Achieved is the glorious work" (The Creation) ... Haydn

Trio and Chorus, (Elijah) ... Mendelssohn
  "Lift thine eyes unto the mountains"
  "He watching over Israel slumbers not nor sleeps"

  "May no rash intruder" ("Nightingale" Chorus from Solomon) ... Handel
  "Hail! Judea, happy land" (Judas Maccabaeus) ... Handel

Andante from String Quartet no. 7 ... Mozart
Andante con moto from Symphony no. 5 in C minor ... Beethoven
Recitative and Air from "Der Freischutz" ... Weber
Etude for pedal flugelm, op. 56 no. 4 ... Schumann
March from "Abraham" ...Molique
Fugue (a 5 voci) in E flat, for organ, in three movements ... J.S. Bach


Performance Type:

Programme Notes: 

No programme available.  Information taken from newspaper report.

Publicity and Reviews: 

Review in The Scotsman the following day, 30 April, reported recital chiefly intended by Mr Oakeley to give those who had not been present at any former performances an opportunity of hearing the organ.  Four new stops have now been added, all of a soft character, including a new vox humana and very beautiful effects were produced by means of them in some of the pieces played.  In the Andante from Beethoven's C minor symphony we had a wonderfully close approach to the effect of an orchestra.