Reid Organ Recital

Friday, February 14, 1958
1.10 pm.
Session 1957-1958

Purcell J. Mansfield - organ

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Passacaglia in B minor ... Merkel
   (from the 8th organ sonata, op. 178)

2. Andante in E flat ... J. S. Bach
   (from Sinfonia in B flat)

3. Fantaisie (no. 3) in C, op. 157 ... Saint-Saëns
    (Très modéré - Allegro - Andantino - Modéré - Allegro - Très modéré)

4. Solemn Prelude, op. 86 ... Flor Peeters

5. Balllade in D major ... J. W. Clokey

6. Concert overture in E flat ... Faulkes
    (composed for and dedicated to Alfred Hollins)

Instrument / Organ Specification: 
Single sheet
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free.
Publicity and Reviews: 

Note that next week's recital will be given by Herrick Bunney.


It is not certain which item was performed second in the programme: while J. S. Bach wrote keyboard sinfonias, they are all single movement works and do not have tempo markings; it is more likely that the item was an arrangement of the second movement (an Andante in E flat major) of J. C. Bach's sinfonia in B flat major, op. 18, no. 2.