Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, November 7, 1935
8.00 pm.
73rd session, 20th season, 2nd concert



John Fairbairn - solo viola
Sir Donald Tovey - conductor
Kenneth Anderson - leader of the orchestra

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Symphony in E flat (K. 543) ... Mozart

2. Concerto for viola and orchestra ... Walton
Andante comodo
     Vivo, con molto preciso
     Allegro moderato
  solo viola - John Fairbairn

---- interval ----

3. Symphonic variations ... Dvořák

4. Symphony no. 1 ... Schumann

Orchestra/Chorus Listing: 

Performance Type:

24-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Notes by D.F.T.

The three orchestral works in this programme have been fully analysed on former occasions, and the analyses are published by the Oxford University Press in the two volumes of my collected essays already issued.  The analysis of Mr Walton's Viola Concerto is about to appear in the third volume, but as that has not been issued I repeat the analysis here.  With the other works I replace the detailed analyses by a set of musical quotations that accounts more or less completely for all the themes and developments; such a list, in fact as would be needed for a student's précis. Actual précis-writing I have not given, as it seldon, if ever, proves readable.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme Price: one shilling
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - list of Thursday concerts for the remainder of the season.

David Macdonald Ltd., Edinburgh