Reid Orchestral Concert

Wednesday, May 13, 1942
7.00 pm.
26th season, 10th concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture, "Flying Dutchman" ... Wagner

2. Serenade for strings in E minor, op. 20 ... Elgar

        Allegro piacevole

3. Slavonic rhapsody in A flat, op. 45, no. 3 ... Dvorák


4. Symphony no. 6 in B minor (Pathétique), op. 74 ... Tschaikovsky

       Adagio - allegro non troppo - andante - allegro vivo - tempo primo
       Allegro con grazia
       Allegro, molto vivace
       Finale. Adagio lamentoso - andante

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Unsigned programme notes for items 1 and 3 only.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Ticket prices: 1/6 to 5/-. Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.1 - A.R.P. (air raid precaution) notice: There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.

On p.3 - Programmes for the 11th and 12th concerts of the series.