Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, October 25, 1941
2.30 pm.
26th season, 1st concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Dame Myra Hess - solo pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture, "Der Freischütz" ... Weber

2. Pianoforte concerto no. 4 in G major (op. 58) ... Beethoven

          Allegro moderato
          Andante con moto
          Rondo. Vivace

3. "A Midsummer's Night Dream" ... Mendelssohn

         Overture. Allegro di molto
         Nocturne. Con moto tranquillo
         Scherzo. Allegro vivace


4. Symphony no. 4, in G major (op. 88) ... Dvorák

         Allegro con brio
         Allegretto grazioso
         Allegro ma non troppo

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Ticket prices: 1/6 to 5/-. Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.1 - A.R.P. (air raid precaution) notice: There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.

On p.3 - Programmes for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th concerts of the Reid Orchestral Concert series.

On p.4 - Skeleton programmes for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th concerts of the Historical Concert series.