Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, May 21, 1942
7.00 pm.
26th season, 11th concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Moiseiwitsch - solo pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture, "Ruslan and Ludmila" ... Glinka

2. Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis ... Vaughan Williams

3. Pianoforte concerto no. 2 in C minor (op. 18) ... Rachmaninov


4. Symphonic poem, "Phaëton" ... Saint-Saens

5. Piano solos
      (a) Hark! hark! the lark! ... Schubert, arr. Liszt
      (b) Tarantella (Venezia e Napoli) ... Liszt

6. "Pavane pour une infante défunte" ... Ravel

7. Overture: "A Roman carnival" ... Berlioz

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Unsigned programme notes on items 2 and 4 only.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets: 1/6 to 5/-. Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 3:
Programme for the last concert of the series on 28 May.