Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, November 8, 1941
2.30 pm.
26th season, 2nd concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Eda Kersey - solo violin

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Symphonic poem, "Don Juan" (op. 20) ... Strauss

2. Violin concerto in D major (op. 77) ... Brahms

      Allegro non troppo
      Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace




3. Rhapsody, "A Shropshire lad" ... George Butterworth

4. Symphony no.5, in E flat major (op. 82) ... Sibelius

      Tempo molto moderato - largamente - allegro moderato - presto
      Andante mosso, quasi allegretto
      Allegro molto

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Unsigned programme notes concerning items 1, 3 and 4 only.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Ticket prices: 1/6 to 5/-. Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 4:
Provisional programmes for the 3rd and 4th concerts of the series on 22 November and 6 December 1941.