Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, October 26, 1972
7.30 pm.
Session 1972-1973

Miles Baster - leader of the orchestra
Michael Tilmouth - conductor
Leon Coates - piano

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Overture La clemenza di Tito ... Mozart

'Little Music' for strings ... Tippett
     Prelude: maestoso
     Fugue: Allegro moderato
     Air: Andante espressivo
     Finale: Vivace

Introduction and allegro appassionata, op. 92 for piano and orchestra ... Schumann

Siegfried Idyll ... Wagner


Symphony no. 3 in E-flat, 'Eroica', op. 55 ... Beethoven
      Allegro con brio
      Marcia funebre: adagio assai
      Scherzo and trio: allegro vivace
      Finale: allegro molto-poco andante-presto

Single yellow sheet, printed on both sides, folded in three
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by M.T. (Michael Tilmouth).

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free.
Publicity and Reviews: 

Advert for next concert on Thursday 2 November at the end of the programme sheet.

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Limited, 12a West Newington Place, Edinburgh

The programme notes by Michael Tilmouth concerning the genesis of Wagner's 'Siegfried Idyll' and the metronome markings in Beethoven's 'Eroica' symphony make an interesting contrast with those written by Donald Tovey, and published in the programme for Wednesday 1 December 1915.