Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, January 23, 1943
2.30 pm.
27th season, 5th concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Dame Myra Hess - solo pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture: "Cockaigne", op. 40 ... Elgar

2. Pianoforte concerto no. 2 in B flat, op. 83 ... Brahms

     Allegro no troppo
     Allegro appassionato
     Andante - piu adagio - tempo I
     Allegretto grazioso


3. Scherzo capriccioso, op. 66 ... Dvorak

4. Three pieces from "The damnation of Faust" ... Berlioz

     (a) minuet of the will-o'-the wisps
     (b) dance of the Sylphes
     (c) the Rakocsy march

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes on items 1 and 3 by S.T.M.N.; notes concerning item 2 by M.G. [Mary Grierson].

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 4:
Programmes for Reid orchestral concerts on 6 and 20 February 1943, plus skeleton programme for 6 March.
Advert for vacancies for tenors, basses and a few contraltos to join the Reid Choir.
Advert for the 3rd concert of the Edinburgh Music Club season on 29 January 1943.