Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, November 28, 1942
2.30 pm.
27th season, 4th concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Albert Sammons - solo violin

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture: "Benvenuto Cellini", op. 23 ... Berlioz

2. Concerto for violin and orchestra, op. 61 ... Elgar

      Allegro molto


3. Symphony no. 2 in D major ... Sibelius

      Allegretto - poco allegro
      Tempo andante ma rubato
      Vivacissimo - lento e suave - tempo primo - lento, leading to
      Finale: allegro moderato

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 4:
Programme for the Reid orchestral concert on 23 January 1943, plus skeleton programmes for concerts on 6 February, 20 February and 6 March 1943.
Also, sketch programmes for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th concerts of the Edinburgh Music Club on 4 December 1942, 29 January and 26 February 1943.