Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, November 14, 1942
2.30 pm.
27th season, 3rd concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Dr Mary Grierson - solo pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture, "The ruler of the spirits" ... Weber

2. Pianoforte concerto in F major (K. 459) ... Mozart

       Allegro assai

3. "Mephisto" waltz - the dance in the village ... Liszt


4. Introduction and allegro appassionato, op. 92 ... Schumann

5. "A London Symphony" ... Vaughan Williams

      Lento - allegro risoluto
      Scherzo (nocturne); allegro vivace
      Andante con moto - maestoso alla marcia - epilogue (andante sostenuto)

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Unsigned programme notes concerning items 1, 2, 3 and 5 only.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 4:
Programme for the 4th concert of the season on 28 November 1942, plus skeleton programmes for concerts on 23 January, 6 February, 20 February and 6 March 1943.