Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, October 17, 1942
2.30 pm.
27th season, 1st concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Ida Haendel - solo violin

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. "From Bohemias woods and meadows" ... Smetana

2. Violin concerto in D, op. 35 ... Tschaikowsky

       Allegro moderato
       Allegro vivacissimo

3. Symphony no. 7 in C major ... Schubert

       Andante, leading to allegro
       Andante con moto
       Scherzo: allegro vivace
       Finale: allegro vivace

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Unsigned programme notes concerning the tone poem by Smetana and Schubert's seventh (now referred to as the ninth) symphony only.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On page 1:
ARP notice: 'There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.'

On page 3:
Programmes for the second, third and fourth concerts of the series on 31 October, 14 November and 28 November 1942.

On page 4:
Skeleton programmes for four Edinburgh Music Club concerts.


Although the Schubert symphony is described as no.7, the movement titles and the programme notes indicate that it is the one now referred to as no.9.