Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, October 15, 1931
8.00 pm
69th session, 16th season, 1st concert



Frank Merrick - solo pianoforte
Professor Donald Francis Tovey - conductor
Mr Watt Jupp - leader of orchestra


Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture to "The Faithful Sentinel" ... Schubert

2. Concerto in F minor, for pianoforte and orchestra, op. 92 ... Glazounow

3. Introduction and Allegro for strings (quartet and orchestra), op. 47 ... Elgar


4. Dynamic Triptych for pianoforte and orchestra, op. 88 ... John Foulds

5. Sinfonia Pastorale, op. 68 ... Beethoven

Performance Type:

24 page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes for items 1, 2, 3 and 5 by D F T; programme notes for work by Foulds written by composer.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme: one shilling
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - list of Thursday concerts for the remainder of the season.

David Macdonald Ltd., Edinburgh

Interesting notes by Tovey concerning the work by Foulds:

"It had been the intention of the Reid Orchestra to produce this work in February; but the indisposition of Madame Suggia, who was to have played at the first concert of this season, necessitated an interchange of programmes.  Madame Suggia will play on February 11th, 1932, the programme originally intended for today; and with extraordinary readiness and generosity, Mr Frank Merrick has consented to transfer his engagement of February so that we may open our season with this important novelty.
In the special circumstances I have had no time to write an essay on Mr Foulds's work.  The essay can wait for another occasion, which is certain to occur, for the work is not one to be neglected.  Meantime, here is Mr Foulds's own programme-note which conveys all the information needed by the listener though it abstains from anything that another analyst might wish to say of the work and its author."

First Performance in Edinburgh: 
Dynamic Triptych for pianoforte and orchestra, op. 88