Reid Orchestral Concert

Friday, October 19, 1945
7.30 pm.
30th season, 2nd concert



Sidney Newman - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Casals - solo violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Tragic overture (op. 81) ... Brahms

                   Allegro non troppo, leading to
                   Molto piu moderato, leading to
                   Tempo primo

2. Violoncello concerto in B minor (op. 104) ... Dvorak

                   Adagio ma non troppo
                   Allegro moderato


3. Ballet overture: "Cupid and Psyche" ... Paul Hindemith

4. Symphony in D major, K. 385 ("Haffner") ... Mozart

                  Allegro con spirito
                  Finale: presto

5. Suite from the ballet: "The Three-cornered hat" ... De Falla

                1. The neighbours
                2. The miller's dance
                3. Final dance

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: sixpence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.4: orchestral list plus the programme for the 3rd Reid orchestral concert of the series on 2 November 1945; also a general advert for the 'Reid Popular Saturday Concerts'.


According to the prospectus for the first six concerts of the series, ticket prices were as follows:

                               Series of six      single concert
Grand tier A–B              40/-                   7/6            Reserved
Grand tier C-G             30/-                   6/-            Reserved
Area B                          25/-                   5/-            Reserved
Area A or C                  20/-                   3/6            Unreserved
Organ gallery               15/-                   2/6            Unreserved
Upper tier                    10/-                   2/-            Unreserved    

Tickets and all information from the local agents: Paterson's, 27 George Street