Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, March 20, 1920
2.30 pm
1919-20, Fourth season/Fourth concert/afternoon series

Miss Jelly D'Aranyi - solo violinist
Mr Arthur Williams - solo violoncellist
Madame Lucy Romain - singer

Professor Donald Francis Tovey - conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1.  Symphonic variations on an original theme, for full orchestra, op. 78 ... Dvorák

2.  Violin concerto in D major, op. 61 ... Beethoven
  (by request)
  violin - Miss Jelly D'Aranyi

interval of ten minutes

3.  Recitative and aria for soprano, with violin obligato and orchestra from "Idomeneo" ... Mozart
  singer - Madame Lucy Romain;  violin - Miss Jelly D'Aranyi

4.  Concerto for violin and violoncello with orchestra, op. 102 ... Brahms
  violin - Miss Jelly D'Aranyi;  violoncello - Mr Arthur Williams



Performance Type:

24-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by D.F.T.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme: one shilling
Publicity and Reviews: 

The concerts of the Reid Orchestra will continue in their next season (1920-21) to develop further along the lines of illustrating important tendencies in musical thought, classical and modern.  With increasing public support it should be possible to increase the number of masterpieces by living composers in our programmes, and this without diminishing the number or proportion of classicals, familiar and neglected.  Eminent solo artists will, as hitherto, be engaged with special regard to special compositions:  it is hoped, for example to arrange for a performance of Sir Edward Elgar's Violin Concerto by Mr Albert Sammons, and of Granville Bantock's "Sappho" (the entire work from which the Prelude was given this year) by Miss Denne Parker.   D.F.T.

David Macdonald Ltd., 74 Hanover Street, Edinburgh