Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, December 5, 1957
7.30 pm.
1957-58 season, 4th concert



Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Sidney Newman - conductor
Edinburgh University Musical Society Choir
Thelma Godfrey - soloist
Michael Griffith-Jones - soloist
Kathleen Joyce - soloist
Roger Stalman - soloist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture: "The consecration of the house" (op. 124) ... Beethoven

2. Selection from the ballet music, "The men of Prometheus" (op. 43) ... Beethoven

       no. 1    poco adagio - allegro con brio
       no. 3    allegro vivace
       no. 10  pastorale: allegro
       no. 5    adagio - andante quasi allegretto
       no. 8    allegro con brio


3. Symphony in D minor no. 9 (op. 125) ... Beethoven

       1. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
       2. Scherzo: molto vivace, alternating with presto
       3. Adagio molto e cantabile, alternating with andante moderato
       4. Finale: presto alternating with quotations from previous movements leading to allegro assai.
           Resumption of presto and intervention of baritone solo followed by chorale finale (setting of Schiller's "ode to joy")

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: sixpence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.4 of programme: advert for a performance of Berlioz "Damnation of Faust" on Wednesday 5 March 1958 at 7pm. Ticket prices given as: 7/6, 6/-, 4/6 and 3/-.