Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, November 16, 1940
2.30 pm.
25th season, 3rd concert



Dr Mary Grierson - conductor
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra
Ida Haendel - solo violinist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture to "The Magic Flute" ... Mozart

2. Concerto in E minor for violin, op. 64 ... Mendelssohn

3. Symphony in B flat (Salmon, no. 12) ... Haydn

       Largo, leading to Allegro vivace
       Finale. Presto

4. Violin solos

5. Soirées musicales (suite of movements from Rossini) ... Benjamin Britten

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme Price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.3 - advert for the fourth concert of the series (programme to include Mendelssohn's "Italian" symphony), Saturday 30 November at 2.30 pm, conducted by Leslie Heward. Also an advert for the chamber music concerts (incorporating the university historical concerts): Saturday 23 November, at 2.30 pm, programme of works by Bach, Handel and Purcell. To be held at the University Music Classroom, tickets 2s 6d.

On the outside back page - advert for a concert by the Edinburgh Promenade choir and a section of the Edinburgh Promenade orchestra in the Usher Hall, Tuesday 3 December, 'to increase the efficiency of transport facilities' at Bruntsfield House ARP ambulance depot. The concert was to be a performance of Haydn's 'Creation'. Tickets 5/9 and 3/6 (reserved); 2/6 and 1/3 (unreserved); members of H.M. forces in uniform, 9d (gallery).


On p.1 - A.R.P. (air raid precaution) notice: There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.

The list of movement titles of the Haydn symphony in B flat (listed in the programme as Salomon no. 12) suggests that it was Haydn's symphony no. 102 that was performed on this occasion.

No composer(s) is listed for the violin solos.