Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, November 30, 1940
2.30 pm.
25th season, 4th concert



Leslie Heward - guest conductor (by permission of the Birmingham symphony orchestra)
Dr John Fairbairn - leader of the orchestra

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture to "L'Epreuve Villageoise" ... Gretry

2. Italian symphony in A major, op. 90 ... Mendelssohn

3. Serenade for string orchestra, op. 20 ... Elgar

4. Divertimento in D major ... Mozart

       Andante maestoso, leading to
       Allegro assai

5. Overture to "Tancredi" ... Rossini

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme Price: threepence
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.3 - advert for the fifth (solo pianoforte - Miss Myra Hess) and sixth (guest conductor - Sir Adrian Boult) Reid orchestral concerts of the series, on Saturdays 1 and 15 February respectively. Also an advert for the third (Miss Jelly D'Aranyi and Dr Mary Grierson, to include Brahms 'sonata for pianoforte and violin in G major', Bach 'chaconne' and Franck 'sonata for pianoforte and violin') and fourth (pianoforte recital by Miss Grace Johnston) chamber music concerts (incorporating the university historical concerts). To be held at the University Music Classroom, tickets 2s 6d.

On p.4 - advert for a special choral service at St Mary's cathedral, Palmerston Place, on Sunday 1 December, at 3.30 pm, by the cathedral choir and the Reid choir, and a section of the Reid symphony orchestra. Conductor: Dr Robert Head, leader of the orchestra: Dr John Fairbairn. Programme listed as: Handel, fifth Chandos anthem; Vaughan Williams, motet "Lord, thou hast been our refuge"; and Mendelssohn, excerpts from "The hymn of praise".


On p.1 - A.R.P. (air raid precaution) notice: There is complete Air Raid accommodation in the basement of the Hall and the corridors. Shelters are also available at the West End (St John's Church) and in Rutland Square. In the event of an air raid an announcement will be made from the platform.

Although the fourth item in the programme is described as a divertimento in D major by Mozart, the list of movements strongly suggests it is the serenade no. 4 in D major, K. 203.