Reid Orchestral Concert

Thursday, October 30, 1924
8.00 pm.
62nd session, 9th season, 1st concert

This season the Reid Orchestra changed its name to Reid Symphony Orchestra, registered as a specially authorised society under the Friendly Societies Act, 1896.



Miss Fanny Davies - pianoforte
Professor Donald Francis Tovey - conductor
Mr Watt Jupp - leader of the orchestra

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture, "The Hebrides" ... Mendelssohn

2. Concerto in G major for pianoforte and orchestra (K. 453) ... Mozart


3. Symphonic variations for orchestra ... C. Hubert H. Parry

4. Pianoforte solos
             Romance in F sharp major ... Schumann
             Novelette in D ... Schumann
             Two Spanish dances ... Granados
             Tocatta ... Debussy

5. Symphony, no. 1, in C minor (op. 68) ... Brahms
     Un poco sostenuto, leading to Allegro
     Andante sostenuto
     Un poco Allegretto e grazioso
     Finale : Adagio - Piu Andante - Allegro non troppo, ma con brio

Performance Type:

24-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

By D.F.T.

The programme note and analysis of the Brahms Symphony is, with some changes, that written [by Tovey] for the visit of the Meinigen Orchestra to London in 1902.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Subscription for series from £2.17s.6d to 10s; for half-series from £1.10s.6d to 5s.6d; for single concerts from 5s.9d to 1s.6d; Hon. members of the Society are allowed 25% reduction on prices of all tickets. Programme Price: one shilling
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - list of Thursday concerts for the remainder of the season.

David Macdonald Ltd., 74 Hanover Street