Reid Orchestral Concert

Saturday, March 17, 1923
8.00 pm.
60th session, 7th season, 5th concert



Mr John Petrie Dunn, Mus. Bac. - pianoforte
Miss Gladys Clark - violin
Professor Donald Francis Tovey - conductor
M. Camillo Ritter - leader of the orchestra

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Overture to "Euryanthe" ... Weber

2. Concerto in F minor, op. 21, for pianoforte and orchestra ... Chopin

----- interval of ten minutes -----

3. Concerto in D major for violin and orchestra, op. 77 ... Brahms

4. Overture to "Die Zauberflöte" ... Mozart

Orchestra/Chorus Listing: 

Performance Type:

28-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

By D.F.T.

Tovey’s analytical programme notes for the concerts regularly included musical examples either printed or in his own hand but the note on Mozart’s Overture to “Die Zauberflote” in the Reid Concert on 17 March, 1923 included an excerpt from the full score of the overture as it stands in Mozart’s autograph.  Tovey found this example among uncatalogued items in the Reid Music Library in a publication by Andre, (the original publisher of Mozart’s works) and had it printed in the programme.   
Tovey wrote a cadenza for the Brahms violin concerto and printed it in full in the programme booklet.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 7/6, 5/9, 3/6, 2/4 and 1/6; Programme Price: one shilling
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - programme for the final Saturday concert of the season.

Subsciption Tickets for the entire series of Six Concerts (including Government Tax)
Grand Tier (reserved and numbered), first two rows, £2.2.0., other rows £1.12.0.
Area (reserved and numbered), £1.0.0., (unreserved), 12/6
Upper Tier (unreserved), 7/6
Subscription tickets are now on sale at Messrs Paterson's Booking Office, 27 George Street
Special arrangements for Parties from Schools, Colleges, Clubs, Musical Organisations and similar bodies will be considered.  Particulars on application.

David Macdonald Ltd., 74 Hanover Street

The sketch programme for this concert advertised:

Fifth Concert, Saturday 17th March
Pianoforte - John Petrie Dunn
Symphony in E major ... D.F.Tovey
Pianoforte Concerto in F minor ... Chopin
Scenes de Ballet ... Glazounow

The only work which appears to have survived from this sketch programme is the Chopin concerto.
The Brahms violin concerto performed by Miss Gladys Clarke was originally scheduled to be performed in the Sixth Concert, Saturday 24th March.