Reid Historical Concert

Wednesday, December 1, 1915
8.00 pm
1915-16, Concert I of IV

Series of Four Historical Concerts under the direction of the Professor of Music.
I. Orchestral concert illustrating the use of the small orchestra in large designs


Members of the Scottish Orchestra (by permission of Messrs Paterson & Sons)

Conductor - Professor Tovey

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Symphony in G minor (Kochel's Catalogue, no. 550) ... Mozart
  Allegro molto
  Menuetto.  Allegretto
  Allegro assai

Siegfried Idyll ... Wagner

Sinfonia Eroica, opus 55 ... Beethoven
  Allegro con brio
  Marcia funebre.  Adagio assai
  Scherzo. Allegro vivace
  Finale.  Allegro molto

16-page booklet
Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Series ticket: Half-a-Guinea, Single Concert: 3s
Publicity and Reviews: 

Concert was preceded at 4.00 pm on Tuesday 30 November by a public lecture given by Professor Tovey in the Music Class Room, on some of the works to be performed.

Concert series was advertised in The Scotsman  on November 17, 1915 under the heading 'University Concerts'.

David MacDonald, 74 Hanover Street, Edinburgh