Reid Chamber Concert

Saturday, November 25, 1989
8.00 pm

The New Music Group of Scotland and the Edinburgh Contemporary Arts Trust in association with the Faculty of Music present a concert of music by and in the presence of  IANNIS XENAKIS on the occasion of his receiving an Honorary Doctorate of Music from the University of Edinburgh


Roger Woodward - piano
The New Music Group of Scotland
  Edward Harper - director

John Kenny - trombone
ECAT Ensemble 
  Peter Nelson - director





Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme of music by Iannis Xenakis

Mists for solo piano

Eonata for piano and 5 brass
  Roger Woodward - piano
  The New Music Group of Scotland
    Nigel Boddice - trumpet
    Kevin Price - trumpet
    Peter Oram - trombone
    Nigel Cox - trombone
    Ian Murray - trombone
  Edward Harper - director


Keren for solo trombone

Waarg for chamber ensemble

  John Kenny - trombone
  ECAT Ensemble
    Cecilia Romero - violin
    Catherine Manson - violin
    Mairie Campbell - viola
    Jonathon Manson - cello
    Carol Everson - double bass
    Anne Evans - flute
    Robin Miller - oboe
    William Sweeney - clarinet
    Chris Robson - bassoon
    Christopher Griffiths - horn
    Jonathon Naylor - trumpet
    John Kenny - trombone
    David Dowell - tuba
  Peter Nelson - director

Performance Type:

Beige cover with 12 white pages inside, A5 landscape.
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by Nouritza Matossian (Mists); Dominic Muldowney (Eonta); and Iannis Xenakis. 
Programme includes full, detailed biography of Xenakis with photograph.
Biographies and photographs of Roger Woodward and John Kenny and notes on NMGS and ECAT.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets £4, Concessions £2.50 from the Queen's Hall Box Office and at the door
[Reid] Professor: 
Inglis Allen, Falkirk