Reid Chamber Concert

Thursday, October 29, 1953
7.30 pm.
1953-54 season, 1st concert

The New Quartet (of Edinburgh)
Robert Cooper
Anne Crowden
Christopher Martin
Joan Dickson

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Quartet in A (K. 464) ... Mozart

      Andante (variations)

2. Quartet in F minor (op. 5) ... Carl Nielson

      Allegro non troppo ma energico
      Un poco adagio
      Allegretto scherzando
      Finale: allegro appassionato


3. Quartet in G major (op. 161) ... Schubert

      Allegro molto moderato
      Andante un poco moto
      Scherzo: allegro vivace - allegretto
      Allegro assai

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: one shilling

This was the first concert given by the New Quartet of Edinburgh, appointed by the Trustees of The Reid Orchestra Endowment Fund.
Professor Newman wrote: “The New Quartet, which began rehearsals early in September 1953 gave its first public recital at the first of the Edinburgh University Concerts on 29 October, 1953, to which series it will contribute three or four more programmes during the course of the season.  It will also participate in the series of orchestral concerts under the conductorship of Professor Sidney Newman and contribute to performances given at the Musical Interpretation Class in the Faculty of Music - a class instituted by the late Professor Sir Donald Tovey.  The association of the New Quartet with the University of Edinburgh provides, however, only a foundation upon which it is possible for Scotland to enjoy the advantage of having a permanent professional quartet based upon the Capital city.”