Reid Chamber Concert

Friday, March 19, 2010
1.10 pm

Hebrides Ensemble
Krysia Osostowicz - violin
Jessica Beeston - viola
William Conway - cello
Alec Frank-Gemmill - horn
Simon Smith - piano

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Storm and Still (for solo cello),
Hymn (for solo viola) and
Capriccio Bagatelles (for solo violin) (1994)
(all solos performed together simultaneously) ... Hans Abrahamsen (b. 1952)

Diaphanous (2010) for Horn, Piano and Cello ... Lina Tonia (b. 1985)

Two Studies for Piano Solo from 'Ten Studies for Piano' ... Hans Abrahamsen
  Riviere d'oubli no. 8
  Cascades no. 9

Horn Trio ... Harry Whalley (b. 1984)

Schnee (Snow) Canon 1a (2006) from '10 Canons for 9 Instruments' ... Hans Abrahamsen

Continuum ... Luke Drummond (b. 1985)

6 pieces for Horn, Violin and Piano (1984) ... Hans Abrahamsen



Performance Type:

4-page white A4 folded (with blue header)
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by the composers

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free
Reid School of Music

The Hebrides Ensemble has recently been invited to join the presigious Re:New network of European contemporary music ensembles.  This project is part of the Hebrides Ensemble's membership of RE:NEW MUSIC which supports the circulation and performance of existing high quality ensemble repertoire, and aims to build wider European collaboration between composers and performers.  Hans Abrahamsen has come from Denmark to work with Hebrides Ensemble and perform his works with the support of the RE:NEW network.
This concert is presented with the support of the RE:NEW Network, the Nordic Council of Ministers and the Cultural Programme of the European Union.