Reid Chamber Concert

Wednesday, February 6, 1957
7.30 pm.
1956-57 season, 6th concert

The New Edinburgh Quartet:

Robert Cooper
Anne Crowden
Christopher Martin
Joan Dickson

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Quartet in E flat ("the joke"), op. 33, no. 2 ... Haydn

       Allegro moderato, cantabile
       Scherzo: allegro
       Largo sostenuto
       Finale: presto

2. Quartet in C minor (op. 18, no. 4) ... Beethoven

      Allegro ma non tanto
      Scherzo: andante scherzoso quasi allegretto
      Menuetto: allegretto
      Allegro - prestissimo


3. Quartet no. 2 (1946) ... Ernest Bloch

     Presto - moderato - allegro molto
     Allegro molto - passacaglia - fuga

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by S.T.M.N. [see notes section below].

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: one shilling

The printed programme for this concert bears little resemblance to the pieces that were actually performed on this occasion. The programme indicates that two string quartets had been booked to play: the Lyra Quartet (Granville Casey, John Crossan, John Linn and John McInulty) and the New Edinburgh Quartet (Robert Cooper, Anne Crowden, Christopher Martin and Joan Dickson). From the concert handbill we know that only the New Edinburgh Quartet performed. In addition, the programme shows that the intended programme had been: Spohr's double quartet no. 3 in E minor (op. 87); Verdi's string quartet in E minor; and Mendelssohn's octet in E flat (op. 20). The programme notes for these three works were written by S.T.M.N. It is not known why the Lyra quartet failed to perform but their absence required a radical change of programme (see above).