Reid Chamber Concert

Friday, October 21, 2016
1.10 pm

Gildas Quartet

Christopher Jones - violin
Gemma Sharples - violin
Kay Stephen - viola
Anna Menzies - cello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Theme and Variations from Death and the Maiden String Quartet in D minor D.810 ... Franz Schubert (1797-1828) 

Black Angels - Thirteen images from tje dark land ... George Crumb (b. 1929)
The 13 individual movements of Black Angels are divided into three large groups.

  I. Departure
     1.Threnody I: Night of the Electric Insects (tutti)
     2. Sounds of Bones and Flutes (trio)
     3. Lost Bells (duo)
     4. Devil-music (solo)
     5. Danse Macabre (duo)

 II. Absence
     6. Pavana Lachrymae (trio)
     7. Threnody II: Black Angels (tutti)
     8. Sarabanda de la Muerte Oscura (trio)
     9. Lost Bells (Echo) (duo)

III. Return
   10. God-music (solo)
   11. Ancient Voices (duo)
   12. Ancient Voices (Echo) (trio)
   13. Threnody III:  Night of the Electric Insects (tutti)
Things were turned upside down.  There were terrifying things in the air ... they found their way into Black Angels - George Crumb


4-page white A4 folded
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes extracted from

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free
[Reid] Professor: 
Reid School of Music