Reid Chamber Concert

Thursday, November 9, 1978
7.30 pm

Students of the Faculty of Music

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 




Toccata in E minor, BWV 914 ... J.S. Bach
  (Moderato) - un poco Allegro - Adagio - Fuga (Allegro risoluto)

  Sarah Keown - piano

Prelude and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544 ... J.S. Bach

  Andrew Dean - organ

"Die Neugierge" (from "Die Schone Mullerin"), op. 25, no. 6 ... Schubert

"Sapphische Ode" op. 94, no. 4 ... Brahms

"Vulkan" (from "Holderlin Lieder"), op. 40, no. 1 ... Josef Matthias Hauer

  Nigel Waugh - baritone
  Paul Rhodes - piano

"The Twit" for trombone and piano ... William Jones
  (first performance)

  William Jones - trombone
  Jane Howarth - piano


Viola Concerto in G major ... Telemann
  Largo (cadenza by Robert W Milne)

  Solo viola - Robert Milne
  Philip Harrold, Susan Longthorp, Gillian Smith, Kathleen Dunphy - violins
  Clare Powne - viola
  Stephen Carpenter - violoncello
  Boyd Pomeroy - double bass
  Graham Reid - harpsichord

Duet in D for cello and double bass ... Rossini
  Andante Molto

  Stephen Carpenter - cello
  Boyd Pomeroy - double bass


Performance Type:

6-page programme on gold paper
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by the students performing the individual works.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free, programme 15p
Publicity and Reviews: 

Advertisement in The Scotsman in advance of the concert.
Review by Conrad Wilson, "Edinburgh University Students' Concert" in The Scotamsn on Friday 10 November 1978.

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Ltd. Edinburgh

The printed programme gave the second item as:

Concerto for oboe and piano on themes of Pergolesi ... John Barbirolli

  Angela Kenyon - oboe
  Jane Howarth - piano

(A slip in the programme advised that Angela Kenyon was unable to play due to illness)


First Performance in World: 
"The Twit" for trombone and piano