Reid Chamber Concert

Tuesday, February 21, 1995
1.10 pm
Season 1994-95

The New Violin Octet: Concert and Colloquium

1.10 pm University Lunch-hour concert
2.00 pm Colloquium under the auspices of Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments

The new violin octet has been developed over the past 30 years by Carleen Hutchins and ther Catgut Acoustical Society of America.  Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments has the only set of such instruments in Britain.

Following the lunch-hour concert, performers, composer and acousiticians will present their findings and review their experiences of the violin octet in Edinburgh.  Chaired by Arnold Myers, this colloquium will include contributions from Murray Campbell, Lyell Cresswell, Christopher Field, Clive Greated, Edward Harper, Raymond Parks and members of the Edinburgh Quartet, followed by a discussion in which the audience is invited to participate.   Admission is free to the concert and the colloquium.


Peter Markham - treble violin
Christopher Field - soprano violin
Miles Baster - mezzo violin
Michael Beeston - alto violin
Clea Friend - tenor violin
Mark Bailey - baritone violin
Lucy Shaw - small bass violin
John Steer - contrabass violin

Edward Harper - director

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Aphorisms ... Gordon Jacob
  1. Brevity is the soul of wit
  2. Sour grapes
  3. Dog in the manger
  4. All that glitters is not gold
  5. Evil weeds grow apace
  6.  When the Devil was sick ...
  7. Still waters run deep
  8. When the cat's away ...
  9. Per ardua ...

Inventions ... Lyell Cresswell
  (first performance)

  I. Tremolante
 II. Duo/Hexads
III. Harmonics
IV. Solo
 V. Pizzicato
VI. Trio/Triads
VII. Octads

Each of the seven inventions explores one or two ideas prompted by this curious set of instruments.
Commissioned by the Faculty of Music with the help of the Catgut Acoustical Society and with subsidy from the Scottish Arts Council.

Chanson Minimale ... Edward Harper
  (first performance)

Instrument / Organ Specification: 
Double sheet A4 (lilac) typed two sides
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by Christopher Field (Gordon Jacob) and by the two composers, Lyell Cresswell and Edward Harper.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Admission free
Publicity and Reviews: 

Leaflet/poster advertising the concert and colloquium.
Notice of the concert featuring a new work for 'Catgut' octet by Lyell Cresswell.

[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh
First Performance in World: 
Chanson Minimale (for new violin octet)