Reid Chamber Concert

Friday, May 13, 1988
7.45 pm

Focus on New Music
Concert of Computer Music

A Programme of Computer Music from the University of Glasgow


William Sweeney - clarinet
Richard Lee - saxophones
John Kenny - trombone
James Durrant - viola
Edward McGuire - percussion
Stephen Arnold - sound projection

David Davies - conductor

David McKenzie - technician

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Geoffrey King
Charles Lyall
Edward McGuire
James MacMillan
William Sweeney
Ian Willcock

Wild Woods for viola, trombone, percussion and tape ... Edward McGuire

Springburn for clarinet and tape ... William Sweeney

The Committee Holds up a Mirror ... Ian Willcock
  for clarinet, saxophone, trombone, viola and tape


Cold Forbidden Mansions ... Geoffrey King
  for clarinet, saxophone, trombone, viola and tape

Threads ... Charles Lyall 
  for soprano saxophone, clarinets and tape

Litanies of Iron and Stone ... James MacMillan
  for clarinet, soprano saxophone, trombone and tape


Performance Type:

12-page gold A4 (stapled)
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by the composers.

All of the works on this programme came into existence because of a unique electro-acoustic project run by the Electro-Acoustic Music studio in the University of Glasgow as part of the 1987 Musica Nova Festival of Contemporary Music, which is jointly promoted every three years by the University and the Scottish National Orchestra.  The project involved the composers being commissioned by Musica Nova to work side-by-side in the studio over a twelve-week period during the summer of 1987 to produce the six works on this programme.  The six compositions were given their first performances in September 1987 during the Musica Nova Festival.  They are receiving further performances in May 1988 in Glasgow, Edinburgh and on the South Bank in London. 

The project received sponsorship from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, the Michael Tippett Music Foundation, the W.A. Cargill Trust, the Scottish Arts Council and the Hetherington Fund in the University of Glasgow.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets £3.50 (Concessions £2.50)
[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh

Workshop on Computer Music, Reid Concert Hall, Saturday 14 May 1988, 10 am - 12.30 pm : 2 pm - 4.30  pm - Admission free.

A workshop directed by Stephen Arnold on the use of micro-computers and MIDI in music synthesis (using ATARI ST computers).  There will be a limited amount of 'hands-on' time. 
All those wishing to participate should contact Fiona Donaldson, Faculty of Music, 12 Nicolson Square before 5 pm on Friday 13 May 1988 (information on the advance poster) or speak to Stephen Arnold at the end of this evening's performance.