Reid Chamber Concert

Thursday, December 9, 1954
7.30 pm.
1954-55 season, 4th concert

The University Singers
Herrick Bunney - conductor
Sidney Newman - harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Tudor church music
     (1) Rejoice in the Lord always ... John Redford
     (2) Ave verum corpus ... William Byrd
     (3) This day Christ was born ... William Byrd
     (4) Quem vidistis pastores ... Richard Dering

2. Pieces from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book
    (1) Alman (no.14) ... Anon.
    (2) Robin (no.15) (variations) ... John Munday
    (3) Alman (no.20) ... Anon.
    (4) O mistris myne (variations) ... William Byrd

3. Madrigals and balletts
    (1) O stay sweet love ... John Farmer
    (2) On the plains, fairy trains were a'treading measures... Thomas Weelkes
    (3) Oft have I vowed how dearly I did love thee ... John Wilbye
    (4) Ho! who comes here with bagpiping and drumming? ... Thomas Morley
    (5) O soflty singing lute ... Francis Pilkington
    (6) Cock a doodle doo ... Robert Jones
    (7) Dainty fine sweet nymph is delightful ... Thomas Morley


4. Suite for harpsichord in F minor (no.8) ... Handel
    Adagio - fugue

5. Motet: "Jesu, joy and treasure" ... J. S. Bach

Performance Type:

4-page programme
Programme Notes: 

Brief notes on the Tudor church music and the Bach motet, BWV 227, by S.T.M.N.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme price: one shilling