Reid Historical Concert

Saturday, February 24, 1940
2.30 pm
1939-40, fifth concert

Edinburgh Bach Society's Choir
Reid Symphony Orchestra
Dr John Fairbairn - leader
Dr Hans Gal - continuo
Dr Mary Grierson - conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. "Turn back, O man" (chorus and orchestra) ... Gustav Holst

2. "Gloria" from Mass in B minor) ... J. S. Bach
   Gloria in excelsis Deo, et in terra pax hominibus bonæ voluntatis

3. Brandeburg concerto no. 2 ... J. S Bach
   Allegro assai
Soloists:- A. Lockwood, trumpet; M. Knight, flute; T. C. Greig, oboe; John Fairbairn, violin

4. Motets for unaccompanied choir -
  (a) "O vos omnes" ... Vittoria
   O vos omnes qui transitis per viam, attendite
   Et videte, si est dolor similis sicut dolor meus:
   Attendite universi populi et videte dolorem meum,
   Si est dolor similis sicut dolor meus.

  (b) "O God the rock" ... Wilbye
   O God the rock of my whole strength,
    Let Thy sweet mercy salve mine anguish,
   And grant me grace O Lord at length,
    Lest that I faint, despair and languish.

  (c) "Nolo mortem peccatoris" ... Morley
   Nolo mortem peccatoris
   Hœ sunt verba salvatoria.

   Father, I am Thine only Son
   Sent down from Heaven makind to save.
   Father, all things fulfilled and done
   According to Thy will I have.
   Father, my will now all is this
   Nolo mortem peccatoris.

   Father, behold my painful smart,
   Taken for man on every side,
   Even from my birth to death most tart,
   No kind of pain I have denied,
   But suffered all, and all for this
   Nolo morem peccatoris.

(d)  "Exultate Deo" ...Palestrina
   Exultate Deo adjutori nostro, jubilate Deo Jacob!
   Sumite psalmum et date tympanum, jacundum,
   Cum cythara!  Buccinate in neomenia tuba,
   Insigni die solemnitatis vestrae!

5. "Magnificat" ... J. S. Bach

4-page programme