Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 22, 1899
1899-1900, Concert I of V

A recital of classical string quartets.


Mr Elkan Kosman - first violin
Mr Richard Daeblitz - second violin
Mr John Daly - viola
Mr Adolf Schmid - violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. String quartet, op. 33 (no. 73 of Peters' edition), in B flat major ... Joseph Haydn

       (a) Allegro moderato
       (b) Scherzo. Allegretto
       (c) Largo
       (d) Presto


2. String quartet in D minor ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

       (a) Allegro moderato
       (b) Andante
       (c) Menuetto. Allegretto
       (d) Allegretto, ma non troppo


3. String quartet, op. 18, no. 6, in B flat major ... Ludwig van Beethoven

       (a) Allegro con brio
       (b) Adagio, ma non troppo
       (c) Scherzo. Allegro
       (d) Adagio "La Malinconia". Allegretto quasi allegro

4-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.3 - dates and programmes of the five historical concerts for the 1899-1900 season.


The string quartet by Haydn is identifiable as op. 33, no. 4 by the key of B flat and the movement titles; similarly, the string quartet by Mozart is identifiable as K. 421/417b by the key of D minor and the movement titles.