Historical Concert

Wednesday, January 19, 1898
1897-1898, Concert III of V

Chamber music for wind instruments and pianoforte.


Mr A. Fransella - flute
Mr W. M. Malsch - oboe
Mr G. A. Clinton - clarinet
Mr A. Borsdorf - horn
Mr T. Wotton - bassoon
Miss Adela Verne - pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. Quintet in E flat major, for pianoforte, clarinet, horn and bassoon ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

2. Quintet in E flat major, op. 16, for pianoforte, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon ... Ludwig van Beethoven



3. Quintet in F major, op. 55, for pianoforte, flute, clarinet, horn and bassoon ... Anton Rubinstein

     First movement - Allegro non troppo

4. Caprices sur des airs danois et russes, op. 79, for pianoforte, flute, oboe and clarinet ... Charles Camille Saint-Saëns

5. Concertstück, "Idyllische Scene" in F major, op. 41 for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon and (originally orchestra) pianoforte ... Julius Rietz

           Moderato assai
           Allegro con fuoco
           Moderato come a prima
           Andante sostenuto
           Molto allegro
           Allegro assai animato


4-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

There are no programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.3 - dates and programmes of the five historical concerts for the 1897-1898 season.