Historical Concert

Wednesday, December 8, 1897
1897-1898, Concert II of V

English cathedral music, from the 16th to the 19th century (continuation of the programme of the first concert).


The choir of the cathedral choir of St Mary
Mr T. H. Collinson - conductor and solo organist
Mr C. M. Cowe - accompanist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. (a) "Te Deum" ... Henry Purcell

    (b) "Rejoice in the Lord always" (the 'Bell anthem') ... Henry Purcell

Interlude: Toccata for the organ ... Henry Purcell

2. "O give thanks" ... Henry Aldrich

3. "Hear my crying" ... John Weldon

4. "O where shall wisdom be found" ... William Boyce

Interlude: con spirito for the organ ... Thomas Augustine Arne


5. "Magnificat" ... James Nares

     "Nunc dimittis" ... James Nares

6. "Withdraw not thou thy mercy" ... Thomas Attwood

7. "Let thy mind" ... William Sterndale Bennett

8. "O saviour of the world" ... John Goss

9. "Wash me thoroughly" ... Samuel Sebastian Wesley

Interlude: Andante in G ... Henry Smart

10. "Our soul is escaped" (quartet) ... Thomas Attwood Walmisley

11. "Ascribe unto the Lord" ... Samuel Sebastian Wesley


4-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Brief notes about the composers integrated into the programme itself rather than a separate essay. 

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the five historical concerts for the 1897-1898 season.


Two of the pieces are not identifiable: Purcell's toccata for the organ, which is probably taken from a keyboard suite; and the con spirito for organ by Thomas Arne.