Historical Concert

Wednesday, January 28, 1914
1913-1914, Concert III of IV

Harpsichord and pianoforte recital of compositions by J. S. Bach and Mozart.


Madame Wanda Landowska - performer [piano and harpsichord]

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Part I

Sonata in A minor ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

       a. Allegro maestoso
       b. Andante cantabile con espressione, 3/4
       c. Presto, 2/4
                   Played on the pianoforte

Capriccio sopra la lontananza del suo fratello dilettissimo ... Johann Sebastian Bach

                   Played on the harpsichord


Part II

Sonata in D major (composed 1789) ... W. A. Mozart

        a. Allegro, 6/8
        b. Adagio, 3/4
        c. Allegretto, 2/4
                  Played on the pianoforte

Chromatic fantasia and fugue in D minor ... J. S. Bach

                  Played on the harpsichord


Part III

Rondo in A minor (composed 1787) ... W. A. Mozart

            Andante, 6/8
                Played on the harpsichord

Prelude and Fugues from the first part of the Wohltemperirte Klavier ... J. S. Bach

            a. C major, no. 1
            b. B minor, no. 24
            c. C sharp major, no. 3
                 The first two played on the harpsichord, the third on the harpsichord and the pianoforte

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a short one page essay (p.3) comparing and contrasting the music of Bach and Mozart.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.6 - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1913-1914 season.


Importantly, the programme identifies whether Landowska was using either the piano or the harpsichord for each piece, confirming that, for comparative purposes, 'Landowska [played] the C sharp major prelude and fugue first on the one and then on the other instrument' (p.3). Athough lacking Köchel numbers, the three Mozart pieces are identifiable by their movement titles and dates of composition.