Historical Concert

Wednesday, October 29, 1913
1913-1914, Concert I of IV

A concert of quintets for pianoforte, two violins, viola, and violoncello.


Mr Philip E. Halstead - pianoforte
Mr Henri Verbrugghen - first violin
Miss Jenny Cullen - second violin
Mr David E. Nichols - viola
Mr James Messeas - violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Quintet in F minor, op. 34 ... Johannes Brahms

       a. Allegro non troppo
       b. Andante, un poco adagio
       c. Scherzo (allegro)
       d. Finale (poco sostenuto)


2. Quintet in A major, op. 81 ... Anton Dvořák

      First movement - allegro, ma non tanto


3. Quintet in F minor ... César Franck

      a. Molto moderato quasi lento
      b. Lento, con molto sentimento
      c. Allegro non troppo, ma con fuoco


4. Quintet in E flat major, op. 44 ... Robert Schumann

      a. Allegro brilliante
      b. In modo d'una Marcia (un poco largamente)
      c. Scherzo (molto vivace)
      d. Allegro, ma non troppo


8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a 2½ page essay (pp.3-5) on quintets for piano and string quartet; the composers featured in the concert are given special mention. Dvořák is described as 'probably the most spontaneous and prolific composer of his time' (p.5); Schumann is referred to as 'the greatest genius, the most poetic and original personality of the four composers [Johannes Brahms, César Franck, Anton Dvořák and Schumann] under discussion.' (p.5).

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1913-1914 season.