Historical Concert

Wednesday, January 29, 1913
1912-1913, Concert III of IV

A concert of choral (accompanied and unaccompanied) and organ music.


Mr James A. Moonie - conductor
Mr Moonie's choir - chorus
Members of the choir - soloists
Mr Matthew Shirlaw, Mus.B., FRCO - organist (soloist and accompanist)

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Toccata for the organ, no. 12 of "Toccate e Partite" (Rome, 1614) ... Girolamo Frescobaldi

2. Motet for the festival of our Lord's nativity, for 4-part chorus ... Giovanni Pierluigi Palestrina

3. Capriccio fatto sopra la Pastorale for the organ, from the first book of the "Toccate e Partite" ... Girolamo Frescobaldi

4. Sanctus, benedictus, and hosanna, from the mass "Iste confessor", for 4-part chorus ... Giovanni Pierluigi Palestrina

5. Capriccio di durezze for the organ, from "Capriccio fatti sopra diversi soggetti (Rome, 1624) ... Girolamo Frescobaldi

6. Crucifixus for 6-part chorus ... Antonio Lotti

7. Harmonisation of a chorale melody by Johann Crüger, Herzliebster Jesu was hast du verbrochen? ... Johann Sebastian Bach

8. Crucifixus for 8-part chorus ... Antonio Lotti

9. Fugue in C minor for organ (Peters edition II., no. 8; Bach Gesellschaft, XV, no. 16) ... Johann Sebastian Bach

10. Stabat Mater for soprano, contralto, tenor and bass solo, chorus and organ (the original accompaniment for stringed instruments) ... Emanuele D'Astorga

12-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a 2½ page essay (pp.3-5) outlining the case for 'old music', particularly that of Palestrina and Frescobaldi.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1912-1913 season.


The fugue in C minor for organ by J. S. Bach is identifiable as BWV 537 from the Bach Geselleschaft reference.