Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 8, 1911
1911-1912, Concert I of IV

Compositions by J. S. Bach for string orchestra, with and without flute, violin, and pianoforte solo.


Mr Henri Verbrugghen - conductor and violinist
Miss Jenny Cullen - violinist
Miss Hilda Bailey - pianist
Mr A. Halstead - flutist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

1. Concerto in D major for string orchestra and flute, violin and cembalo solo. No. 5 of the six concertos for several and various instruments dedicated "A son Altese Royalle Monseigneur Crêtien Louis, Marggraf de Brandenbourg".

     a. Allegro
     b. Affettuoso
     c. Allegro

2. Concerto in D minor, no. 1, for cembalo and string orchestra

     a. Allegro
     b. Adagio
     c. Allegro

3. Suite in B minor for flute and string orchestra

     a. Ouverture
     b. Rondeau
     c. Sarabande
     d. Bourrée, I and II
     e. Polonaise
     f. Menuet
     g. Badinerie

4. Concerto in D minor for two violins and string orchestra

     a. Vivace
     b. Largo ma no tanto
     c. Allegro

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a short 1¼ page essay (pp.3-4) entitled 'J. S. Bach'. In addition to lauding the works of J. S. Bach, the notes include an interesting concluding note on historical performance: 'In conclusion, it should be mentioned that to-night the cembalo (clavicembalo = harpsichord) part will be played on the pianoforte. This is unhistorical, but is more likely to be to the advantage of the music than the reverse.' (p.4)

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.6 - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1911-1912 season.