Historical Concert

Wednesday, December 7, 1910
1910-1911, Concert II of IV

A Couperin and Chopin harpsichord and pianoforte recital.


Madame Wanda Landowska - harpsichord and pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Part I.

François Couperin le Grand.

Pieces for the harpsichord (clavecin)

1. La favorite (rondeau - chaconne à deux temps)

2. Le rossiguol en amour

3. Le rossiguol vainquer

4. Les sylvans (rondeau)

5. Les tambourins et musette

6. Les ondes (rondeau)

7. Les calotins et les calotines (male and female buffoons), ou la pièce à trétours

8. Two pieces from Les fastes de la grande et ancienne ménestrandise
    (a) Les viéleux et les gueux
    (b) Les jongleurs, sauteurs; et saltimbanques; avec les ours et les singes


Part II.

Frederic Chopin

Pieces for the pianoforte

1. Prélude in D flat mjor, op. 28, no. 15

2. Impromptu in A flat major, op. 29

3. Nocturne in F minor, op. 55, no. 1

4. Mazurkas in C major and C sharp minor

5. Etude in A flat major

6. Berceuse

7. Polonaise in C sharp minor, op. 26, no. 1

8. Valses in C sharp minor and D flat major

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a two-page essay (pp.3-4) entitled 'Couperin and Chopin', which confirms that the pieces by Couperin are derived from the four books of Pièces de Clavecin.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1910-1911 season.


Some of the works performed on this occasion are not identifiable from the programme. It is not possible to identify which Chopin etude in A flat, mazurka in C major or mazurka in C sharp minor were played by Wanda Landowska, for example,  without an opus number since Chopin composed more than one in each of these keys.