Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 27, 1907
1907-1908, Concert II of IV

A concert of quartets, for pianoforte, violin, viola, and violoncello.


Mr Philip E. Halstead - pianoforte
Mr Henri Verbrugghen - violin
Mr D. E. Nichols - viola
Mr James Messeas - violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Quartet in G minor ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

       (a) Allegro
       (b) Andante
       (c) Allegro (rondo)

Quartet in E flat major, op 47 ... Robert Schumann

       (a) Sostenuto assai
       (b) Molto vivace
       (c) Andante cantabile
       (d) Vivace

Quartet in A major, op. 26 ... Johannes Brahms

       (a) Allegro non troppo
       (b) Poco adagio
       (c) Poco allegro
       (d) Allegro

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The preface to the programme consists of a one-and-a-half page (pp.3-4) essay on works written for the relatively unusual combination of piano, violin, viola and cello.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - dates and programmes of the four concerts for the 1907-1908 season.