Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 6, 1907
1907-1908, Concert I of IV

A recital of organ music, from Frescobaldi to Reger.


Sir Walter Parratt, M.V.O., Mus.D - organist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Part I.

1. Passacaglia ... Girolamo Frescobaldi

2. Prelude and Fugue in F major ... Dietrich Buxtehude

3. Musette ... Jean François Dandrieux

4. (a) Choralvorspiel "O Mensch bewein' dein' Sünde gross" ... Johann Sebastian Bach
    (b) Toccata in C major ... Johann Sebastian Bach
         toccata - adagio - fuga
    (c) Fantasia in G major ... Johann Sebastian Bach
         très vitement - gravement - lentement

5. Concerto in D minor ... Wilhelm Friedemann Bach
    Allegro - Fugue - Largo - Allegro


Part II.

6. Sonata in A major, op. 65, no. 3 ... Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

7. Lamentation ... Félix Alexandre Guilmant

8. Fantasia and Fugue in D minor, op. 103 ... Charles Villiers Stanford
    Lento maestoso, allegro molto, and più moderato - andante moderato (fugue)

9. Fantasia in E flat major ... Charles Camille Saint-Saëns

10. Introduction and Passacaglia ... Max Reger

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The preface to the programme consists of a short one-page (p.3) essay on organ music. The concert marked the restoration and conversion to pneumatic action of the W. Hill & Son four-manual organ (originally built 1857) in the music class room; pp.6-7 contains a full specification.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1907-1908 season.


The organ concerto in D minor reportedly by Wilhelm Friedemann Bach is an arrangement of a concerto by Vivaldi; the arrangement is now considered to be the work of J. S. Bach.