Historical Concert

Wednesday, January 23, 1907
1906-1907, Concert III of IV

(1) Schumann's orchestral and melodramatic music to Byron's Manfred
(2) Mendelssohn's orchestral and some of the melodramatic music to Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream


Mrs Tobias Matthay - reciter
About fifty members of the Scottish orchestra
Mr Henri Verbrugghen - leader of the orchestra
Mr Matthew Shirlaw - organ
Professor Niecks - conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Part I.

Music to Byron's dramatic poem "Manfred" ... Robert Schumann

1. Overture
2. Appearance of a magic figure - "O God ! if it be thus, and thou are not a madness and a mockery" (melodramatic)
3. Ranz des vaches - "Hark! the note, the natural music of the mountain reed" (melodramatic)
4. Entr'acte
5. Calling of the witch of the Alps - "Beautiful spirit! with thy hair of light"
6. Invocation of Astarte - "Shadow ! or Spirit! Whatever thou art" (melodramatic)
7. Manfred's address to Astarte - "Hear me, hear me, Astarte"
8. Manfred's soliloquy - "There is calm upon me" (melodramatic)
9. Manfred's address to the setting sun - "Glorious orb" (melodramatic)
10. Manfred's approaching end, death, and requiem (melodramatic)


Part II.

Music to Shakespeare's "A Midsummer's Night's Dream" ... Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

1. Overture
2. Scherzo (after the first act)
3. Fairies' march
4. Intermezzo (after the second act - "Hermia seeks Lysander, and loses herself in the wood")
5. Notturno (after the third act)
6. Wedding march (after the fourth act)
7. Dance of the clowns
8. Finale (the blessing of the house - partly melodramatic)

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The prefatory note is a single-page essay (p.3) giving a brief overview of the two works being performed.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.6 - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1906-1907 season.


The name of the reciter is given as Mrs Tobias Matthay; her maiden name was Jessie Kennedy.