Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 9, 1910
1910-1911, Concert I of IV

A recital of string quintets.


Mr Henri Verbrugghen - first violin
Mr Guy Magrath - second violin
Mr David E. Nichols - first viola
Miss Jenny Cullen - second viola
Mr James Messeas - violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Quintet in G minor, no. 5 (K. 516, composed in 1787) ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
(a) allegro, (b) allegretto (minuetto), (c) adagio ma non troppo, (d) adagio, allegro


Quintet in C major, op. 29 (composed 1801) ... Ludwig van Beethoven
(a) allegro moderato, (b) adagio molto espressivo, (c) allegro (scherzo), (d) presto


Quintet in G major, op. 111 (composed 1890) ... Johannes Brahms
(a) allegro non tropppo, ma con brio, (b) adagio, (c) un poco allegretto, (d) vivace ma non troppo presto

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a one-and-a-half page essay (pp.3-4) entitled 'the string quintet'.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.6 - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1910-1911 series.