Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 3, 1909
1909-1910, Concert I of IV

A recital of six string quartets by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809).


Mr Henri Verbugghen - first violin
Mr B. G. Magrath - second violin
Mr D. E. Nichols - viola
Mr Jas. Messeas - violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme of six string quartets by Joseph Haydn

1. Op. 1, no. 1, in B flat major (1755).
   Presto, 6/8; Menuetto, 3/4; Adagio, C; Menuetto 3/4; Presto, 2/4

2. Op. 20, no. 6, in A major (1774).
   Allegro di molto e scheerzando, 6/8
   Adagio (cantabile), cutC
   Menuetto.  Allegretto, 3/4
   Allegro (Fuga a III Soggetti, a Fugue with three subjects), C

3. Op. 33, no. 3, in C major (1781, the Vogelquartett [bird quartet], one of the six so-called Russian quartets, dedicated to the Grand Duke Paul, which are called Gli Scherzi, because of the substitution of scherzos for the minuets).
   Allegro moderato, C
   Scheerzando. Allegretto, 3/4
   Adagio, 3/4
   Finale, Rondo.  Presto, 2/4

4. Op. 54, no. 1, in G major (published in 1789, and dedicated to the Vienna amateur Tost).
   Allegro con brio, C
   Allegretto, 6/8
   Menuetto, 3/4
   Finale. Presto, 2/4

5. Op. 64, no. 5, in D major (published in 1790).
   Allegro moderato, C
   Adagio (cantabile), 3/4
   Menuetto. Allegretto, 3/4
   Finale. Vivace, 2/4

6. Op. 77, no. 1, in G major (c 1800).
   Allegro moderato, C
   Adagio, C
   Menuetto. Presto, 3/4
   Finale. Presto, 2/4

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Three-and-a-half page essay (pp.3-6) by Professor Niecks, 'about string quartets in general and Haydn's in particular'.
"If orchestral music corresponds to painting, string quartet music corresponds to engraving  at its best to line engraving ..."

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1909-1910 series.